The simple things

I love how God can use the simple things to encourage and show His love towards His beloved. He can use something as simple as a song (in my case Further Up/Further In by My Epic) when my faith and love for God is feeling cold and lifeless. A verse from the scriptures (in my case Philippians 4:6-7 I read while sitting on a rock overlooking a pond near out house) to bring encouragement and peace to my troubled heart. Reading a biography of a great Christian of old (in my case Jonathan Edwards and his resolution “Resolved, That I will do whatsoever I think to be most to the glory of God, and my own good, profit, and pleasure, in the whole of my duration; without any consideration of the time, whether now, or never so many myriads of ages hence”) to admonish me to live for God’s glory and God’s alone.

God does delight to use powerful and awe-inspiring things to encourage, admonish and lavish His love upon His children. However, He often times seems to use the simple things in life. A cup of coffee early in the morning while watching the sunrise (since I’m definitely not a morning person I’ve only experience this joy a handful of times). The company of dear family and friends. Reading a favorite book and a sipping from a cup of tea while rain gently falls outside. A hike through the Colorado Rockies. The smell of fresh-cut grass. Sunlight reflecting off of a lake. The simple things.

Leave a Reply

