Rejoicing over you with gladness

“The Lord your God is in your midst,

a mighty one who will save;

he will rejoice over you with gladness;

he will quiet you by his love;

he will exult over you with loud singing.”

– Zephaniah 3:17 ESV

I’ve read this many times before. I’ve heard it preached on and seen it on cheesy Christian book store plaques. Yet as I was thinking about this it started to be revealed to me in a deeper way. God, who spoke the universe into existence, the most infinite holy and awesome god, is singing…. over us. With merely a spoken word  the unimaginably vast universe was brought into being and he is singing over us. We who have spit in His face and dishonored him again and again with our sin. I was left speechless as I tried to comprehend his powerful truth.

“I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. 40 I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.”

Jeremiah 32:39-42 ESV

Allow these passages to sink deep into your heart. God will not turn from doing you good. Even when circumstances are dire, God is orchestrating these events to bring even more good into your life. And God delights to do this. He rejoices with all His heart and soul in doing you good.

One response to “Rejoicing over you with gladness

Leave a Reply

