Knowing God by J.I. Packer

This is a big book. Not in size, for it is only 286 pages, but in topic. I mean just look at the title. J.I. Packer chose a vast subject in writing this book. Yet he does a remarkable job. Knowing God is considered a modern classic by many and I would have to say that I agree. Packer has written a powerful book.

He starts off the book by clarifying the difference between knowing about God and actually knowing God. There is a vast difference between the two. Later he goes on to discuss several attributes of God and how they correlate with a Christian’s life. He clarifies so many of the misconceptions that Christians commonly have about God.

I will warn you – this is a dense book. Mr. Packer is very thorough and theologically sound and he references a lot of scriptures. You will find no light and fluffy material here. However, this is a tremendously helpful book. Even if it is one that needs to be read several times to be fully digested.

2 responses to “Knowing God by J.I. Packer

  • Mark

    I need to read that book again! I read it in college many, many years ago – and somewhere around here, I think, is a paperback copy withe cover torn off – but I have not read it through since then. Thanks for the reminder, Chase!

Leave a Reply

