Trembling before the Word of God

When I was a young lad I never really enjoyed reading the Bible. It was somewhat boring and drab. I would certainly read it during a service at Church. And sometimes I would attempt to peruse its pages to impress my elders and peers of how “spiritual” I was. I also occasionally enjoyed the stories from the Old Testament when I ran out of other things to read. But beyond that I mostly steered clear from it. And why should I want to read it? The Old Testament was full of either weird stories that never made sense, poems (which I used to absolutely despise) or long lists of genealogy that went on for pages and pages. Then when I would read the New Testament I had absolutely no idea what was being said. Jesus would tell these parables that were so utterly confusing and seemed to have no point. It all made no sense. I did not like it or understand it so I of course had no respect for it. I never just sat in awe before the Word of God and enjoyed and delighted in its majesty and power. I never allowed it to shape me into an image of Christ.

Thankfully this past year I came to “really” know Jesus Christ. And since I knew the Word of God made flesh, I began to know the Word of God in text.  It came alive before my eyes. It was no longer the dry and boring book of text. I began to understand how it is all about Christ. All the stories and poems and genealogies all lead to Christ. It is one massive and impressive rescue mission.

Unfortunately most modern Christians don’t come to this deep of a relationship with Christ. They are sitting inside of a jail cell, even though the door is unlocked. They have an entire new life and a way of unlocking and understanding of scriptures, but they never accept it. Instead they treat the Word of God as a regular book. They alter and arrange the Words of God to fit their worldview, instead of allowing the Words of God to alter their own worldview. They do not tremble before the Bible.

As followers of Christ we all need to handle the Sacred Text of God with such respect that we tremble every time we open its pages. We need to match our lives to the Scriptures, not the other way around. We should not alter it in the slightest, nor try to get it to say something that it clearly doesn’t. We should hide it in our heart and treasure it. We should delight in its purity and virtue. For Christ is the Word of God made flesh.

” In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by him; and without him was not anything made that was made. In him was life; and the life was the light of men. And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.”

John 1:1-5

Therefore the Word of God was and is Christ. It’s completely focused upon Him and directs every person who reads its pages to the feet of the cross. It is a priceless treasure map that leads us to the ultimate treasure: Jesus Christ and the salvation that is found in Him.

Leave a Reply

